View Single Post
Old 01-06-2008, 10:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
newtonsfirstlaw
EcoModding Apprentice

The Mighty Mira - '92 Daihatsu Mira
90 day: 61.32 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoky View Post
I think everyone may be misinterpreting my comments. I am not trying to start any arguments I just want to assist in finding more ways to make everyones vehicle more efficient.
I'm just trying to help you out with forum forum etiquette here, so don't take offense. It would help without the appeals to nameless authorities to justify your arguments. If you are going to assert something, be prepared that someone will argue the point if they know it's not right. People here may be hobbyists but we take it seriously.

I know MetroMPG has bought at least one book on aerodynamics. Trebuchet works on HPVs while studying engineering (mechanical?). I'm an electrical engineer, and I've built a fuel economy simulator in my spare time that gets very good agreement with real world values. We've all spent man months in our spare time, researching fuel economy using search engines primarily. At the very least, I know I have and basjoos has, it is evident in his designs, and he has been thinking about this since the first fuel scare back in the 1970s. This particular site may be new, but we have discussed things together for over a year now.

Perhaps the difference in our approach to that of the automotive industry (which it appears you hail from) is that we expect that fuel prices will rise exponentially in our lifetime. 100%, 200%, 500%, 1000% increased real prices are not unreasonable expectations given human population growth rates.

Saving 5% in that environment is just not going to cut it.