View Single Post
Old 05-14-2018, 08:34 AM   #107 (permalink)
Bense
EcoModding Lurker

I'm willing to bet that the inefficiency attributed to the increase in polar moment of inertia from larger diameter tires isn't enough to justify the switch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmay635703 View Post
I am no expert but 48mpg is at the low end, the guy above you has 60+ mpg in his garage.

If we wanted under 50 I guess your right
Y'all are focusing too much on the numerical value that Bone mentioned that you're completely missing the point. The point is that gearing isn't going to change as much of the engine's efficiency as some of y'all seem to think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysler kid View Post
I've had an s20 trans in an hx, and a factory s40 trans in an hx. For my driving style the shorter gearing was more efficient and easier to drive.

The worst hx I've ever had, had the original s40 long gear with an aftermarket store brand clutch and flywheel. I would have to red line the car just to keep up with traffic merging into the freeway
This is ambiguous.
's20' is any 92-95 civic D-series trans
's40' is any 96-00 civic D-series trans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BongoBennie View Post
I have an 01 insight 5 speed. apparently the FD is swappable with the 01-05 D17 gear boxes. I want to swap the D17 with HX trans and Insight 3.2 FD. Engine will be turbocharged and I estimate a 200whp output.
This might seem to be the case, as the 1g insight 5MT and the 7g USDM civic D17 5MT share a lot in common. However, direction that the helical gears are cut are backwards from one another. D17 is a counter clockwise (CCW) engine, whereas insight is CW.