Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2017, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Aerodynamic Brick Thread: 1990 Vanagon Carat

I recently became a Vanagon owner after discovering the world of Subaru engine conversions on these, and realizing that it was possible to own a reliable one!

I know this is not a great starting point for good mph or aerodynamics, but being an aeronautical engineer I could not help but try.

I came across this design for an aft wing/spoiler for square bodied vehicles, but couldn't find any specific examples of it being used. So it was time to prototype! The shape kind of resembles an inverted airfoil, and it seems likely to me that it could help draw air gently into the large low pressure zone behind a van like this, hopefully reducing drag and maybe improving wind handling.

I haven't tested it yet, it needs a coat of epoxy to weatherproof it, but I managed to get all the angles correct and it fits well by using the hatch to compress it against the body.

Thanks for any comments. I'll post some results when I get them, and I will likely continue modding it.

Dan

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	van tail.jpg
Views:	602
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	22947   Click image for larger version

Name:	VAN WING 3.jpg
Views:	578
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	22948   Click image for larger version

Name:	VAN WING 7.jpg
Views:	622
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	22949   Click image for larger version

Name:	VAN WING 8.jpg
Views:	600
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	22950  
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to dhehnke For This Useful Post:
aerohead (11-18-2017), BamZipPow (11-18-2017), JRMichler (11-17-2017), oldtamiyaphile (11-16-2017), Xist (11-21-2017)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 11-16-2017, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker