Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > General Efficiency Discussion
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2012, 09:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Jogger Fogger - '07 GMC Sierra SLT
90 day: 13.62 mpg (US)
I think there's a little confusion here about the cost of making biodiesel vs. ethanol.
Making biodiesel or WVO from free used cooking oil is very cheap. $1/gal?

Making the un-used cooking oil is much more expensive.

If you had to make the oil from raw products, then refine it to biodiesel, then it would be $8+/gal.

To answer the OP's question about MPG and biodiesel; yes, it's not as good as petro diesel. I've seen 1-5% worse and 4-10% worse. Lots of variables there. I've been running B100 for 6 months now and B99 for 2 years before that and my driving style blocks any good study, but the difference is marginal. I know marginal is what hypermiling is all about, but once I started making my own fuel, I cared less about MPG and more about that cool smell that followed my truck around.

-Kevin

The Following User Says Thank You to joggerfogger For This Useful Post:
rubicon209 (04-05-2012)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-05-2012, 08:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Ol' Greasy - '82 Volkswagen Rabbit L

The Red Ranger - '86 Ford Ranger Turbo Diesel
I have been considering making biodiesel from WVO for a while now since the price of producing it far outweighs any slight reduction in mileage I may see. My main concern is this:

Does biodiesel have any effect on the lifespan of the injection pump?
Old 04-05-2012, 09:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Jogger Fogger - '07 GMC Sierra SLT
90 day: 13.62 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen_dodge View Post
Does biodiesel have any effect on the lifespan of the injection pump?
In short: No.