Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2014, 04:50 AM   #71 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Does everyone here understand that MOST Honda's are not acurate with the speedo and odometer?

While 92-95 DX/LX came with 175/70/13 or 185/60/14 neither are tall enough to give accurate readings. 185/65/14 on my 1995 LX sedan as well as on my 1994 DX Sedan gave the correct info.

FACT: I've been doing these number calcs for 15 years, before ECM was born.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-18-2014, 10:04 AM   #72 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

ND Miata - '15 Mazda MX-5 Special Package
90 day: 42.54 mpg (US)
Thanked 2,501 Times in 1,547 Posts
Can't speak for others, but my odometer was accurate within 0.1% stock, comparing displayed miles to highway markers and GPS. I've increased the tire size by 1.1% and my odometer reads ~1.1% slow now. The speedometer is within ~1.5MPH but I've pulled the needle off so I can't expect it to read any more accurately than I stuck it back on the peg.
Old 03-18-2014, 11:02 AM   #73 (permalink)
Cyborg ECU

Black and Green - '98 Honda Civic DX Coupe
Team Honda
90 day: 66.42 mpg (US)

Black and Red - '00 Nashbar Custom built eBike
90 day: 3671.43 mpg (US)
Thanked 2,172 Times in 1,469 Posts
I have a whole thread devoted to the calibration of my odometer against the transmission and tires sizes. In my current set up and my previous I repeatedly measured significant undercounts in miles on the odo. My current arrangement with a 1993 transmission, 1998 gauge cluster, and 175/70-r13 tires I have repeatedly measured an average approximate 2.9% odo undercount. That's my finding.