Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2015, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cyborg ECU

Black and Green - '98 Honda Civic DX Coupe
Team Honda
90 day: 66.42 mpg (US)

Black and Red - '00 Nashbar Custom built eBike
90 day: 3671.43 mpg (US)
Thanked 2,172 Times in 1,469 Posts
Question Air intake restriction, manifold vacuum, fuel flow

Could a more restrictive than OEM air intake, such as my current WAI, increase fuel flow by increasing intake manifold vacuum? A significant manifold vacuum increase could pull more fuel through the injectors, no? Would this then confuse the ECU which would know about the added fuel from the O2 sensor and respond by cutting fuel trim? The result could be very unstable idle and really erratic fuel trims changes, no? I could read the MAP sensor data with my scantool to see if the WAI is even increasing vacuum, no?

I am a journeyman/novice mechanic at best ... what am I not understanding about these systems?

See my car's mod & maintenance thread and my electric bicycle's thread for ongoing projects. I will rebuild Black and Green over decades as parts die, until it becomes a different car of roughly the same shape and color. My minimum fuel economy goal is 55 mpg while averaging posted speed limits. I generally top 60 mpg. See also my Honda manual transmission specs thread.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-11-2015, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Higher vacuum is lower pressure. That is seen as less air, meaning less fuel will be injected. Which is the opposite of what you are talking about.

It is also very unlikely indeed that an air intake would cause more restriction than a mostly-closed throttle plate. At cruise RPMs, it probably isn't enough restriction to even measure.

-soD
Old 03-11-2015, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 2,024 Times in 1,304 Posts