Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2015, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Achieva rear spoiler

I'm a newbie who is proud of himself for finding the "new thread" button. I appreciate this sight and hope I can contribute.

I have a 95 Achieva S with a rear spoiler that is leaking water into the trunk. I'll be removing it this weekend to reseal it, or delete it. I used the Aero-template, and a pic that I borrowed offline, to see where this fits in the streamline. I'm thinking that this spoiler actually serves a purpose. (Looking sporty for sales purposes might be the purpose.) Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I don't want to lose the handling in "truck traffic" that i now enjoy. If this spoiler is a parachute, what is the better option? A diffuser?

Sorry, I haven't found the method of posting the pic with the template.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	green achieva.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	16789  
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 01-17-2015, 02:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 8,554 Times in 7,041 Posts
Based on what I can see, IMHO the outer 4-6" on each side are in free flowing air and might provide some downforce at the expense of added drag. The middle section is in the turbulent wake and probably not contributing much.

Quote:
I don't want to lose the handling in "truck traffic" that i now enjoy.
What is it that you find enjoyable? Straight-line stability when meeting/passing trucks?

Air dams, diffusers and fender skirts can help. The alternative that could use the presumed leaky mounting holes would be a Bonneville spoiler.

The Following User Says Thank You to freebeard For This Useful Post:
razordave (01-17-2015)
Old 01-17-2015, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Bonneville spoiler!! Now that interesting.