EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hybrids (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hybrids.html)
-   -   G2 highway mileage (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/g2-highway-mileage-35081.html)

pete c 04-16-2017 10:36 PM

G2 highway mileage

I have been giving the G2 Insight some thought. Been doing a little reading on them and it seems they can beat the pants off the EPA numbers for the highway. I have seen numbers well into the 50s and sometimes approaching 60. Is this true? I am a field tech and I drive a lot, with the great majority being highway. As we all know, the G2 Insight seems to be the red-headed step child of the Hybrid world at this time. I assume that has a lot to do with the IMA system which gives up a lot to the EV only drive mode of the Prius. I am seeing low mile, good looking G2s on CL for ridiculously low prices. If I had to drive into a big city every day, I wouldn't consider one, but I don't. If this is a comfy highway cruiser that can get into the 50s, with the practicality of a hatchback. Another nice thing is that it seems Honda has more or less worked out the IMA bugs with the G2. Is this so?

Natalya 04-17-2017 12:33 AM

What highway speeds are you looking at?

pete c 04-17-2017 06:50 AM

70ish.

I did see in a review that a downside to the G2 is that it felt rather unsettled at high speed.

While this could be looked at as a bad thing, my wallet thinks otherwise.