Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2008, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hydrogen Nut

Smart Car ForTwo Pure - '08 Smart Fortwo Pure stripped
90 day: 51.35 mpg (US)

BMW 750iL V12 - '90 BMW V12
90 day: 26.4 mpg (US)

Wildfire 250C - '08 Shandong Pioneer 250C
Hi Eeeeeeeeekomodders!

Hi Eeeeeeeeekomodders! I'm an ecomodder, too. I've been a high mileage fanatic for many years. I'm a little tech-oriented because I took some Mechanical Engineering back in the '80s and have made my living as a mechanic, truck driver or equipment operator since the 1970s. It's great to discover this site with so many folks pursuing similar goals. I'm interested in combining the best of complementary technologies into one platform - but mostly in theory because you get into BIG BUCKS on the cutting edge.

Still, there are big gains to be collected with practical modest compromises to effeciency perfection, and you can save a lot of dough if you are a fabricator like me, with welding skills and equipment capable of handling aluminum and stainless steel. I'm pretty green with fiberglass, though. I've got an Invader and a Trimagnum, both fiberglass, stored away for future modification. I'm more interested in plastic sandwich foam, particularly using aerogel. Bit I also lean towards accident survivability so I see the Smart as an ideal experimental platform for now.

Lately I've been designing an electric assist for the Smart 4/2 Pure to be used as a niche PHEV range extender over 200 miles, adding 10-20% increase in torque and shooting for 80-100 mpg at 55-60 mph. Cost of the mod is over eleven grand, though, which is almost what I paid for the car, and these estimates tend to bloat upwards when the tools start flying, so it may not actually happen without a deep-pockets partner.