Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

civic with bad mpg help

Hey everybody I am glad I found this site! Now on to my problem. I had a 99 civic ex a while back. I kept it stock and in good running condition. It would give me 34mpg average. I work as a courier and have to pay my own gas so I love civics. An accident took that car away. Now I have a 00 DX hatchback. But it's only getting me 31mpg. It has all the stuff from the ex in it. Like power locks, windows, mirrors, and even the motor and tranny. It had a short ram intake and DC 4-2-1 header along with a hi-flo cat and 2.25 pipping with a RS-R muffler at the end. It is stock quiet I'm not into the loud fart can noise. I found the stock airbox at the junkyard. It didn't come with the tube that goes under the air filter and loop to the other side of the fender. But its better like this because it will suck air from the engine bay now right? I've been reading warmer air is better for mpg's. Do you think the bigger exhaust pipping could be hurting my mileage? I mainly drive on highway from San diego to Los Angeles every night. I already did the the normal tune up stuff. Cap & rotor, wires & spark plugs, 5w-20 synthetic oil, PCV valve replacement, first o2 sensor, valve adjustment. Should I change the second o2 sensor? I was told it didn't affect air fuel ratios just the first one is this true? I would think I would get better average mpg's than my old civic since its the same drive train in a lighter chassis. Maybe I'm missing something. I appreciate your help

Last edited by chito; 12-07-2012 at 01:06 PM..
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 12-06-2012, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
GRU
Master EcoModder

silver bullet - '00 Honda Civic
90 day: 34.41 mpg (US)