Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2010, 01:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Silver Piglett - '98 Hyundai Accent
90 day: 25.79 mpg (US)
New "Hypermiler" - trying to save

Newbie here, been reading the forum for a day now. Very nice tips, may I say.

I've got a 1998 Hyundai Accent with 111.3k miles on it - 4k of my own. It's in perfect condition, barring the engine. It's fine and runs, but it's dirty as hell. I've been trying to run a fuel system cleaner since I got it, that STP stuff. I've noticed a pickup in the car's power, not much as it's only got 94 HP stock, but it's been picking up.

I'm now looking at hypermiling.. but a reduced version. My last tank, driving regularly (full throttle from a stop to 45, using the brakes normally -- driving like a kid ) got me 24.9 MPG, apparently.

I filled up tonight, and I've already started the hypermiling experience. Throwing the car in neutral and coasting, steady foot up hills, don't floor the gas off the line, let it roll and then use some gas.. etc. I haven't, however, had the balls to EOC. I've done two EOC attempts in my neighborhood, and my brakes get hard to pump (usual) and the steering gets hard to turn. I'm afraid that if I do that in traffic, I'll end up causing a wreck.

Basically, I'm looking to turn that 24.9 into 30, or 35 even. I can't EOC or P&G, I can P&GwI (Pulse and Glide while idling), but I'm not ballsy enough to turn my car OFF in traffic.

Is there a way to do get 5 or 10 MPG out of my car? I want to try to SeaFoam my car out to get any residual crap out, but if I don't, can I still achieve that kind of a pickup?

Thanks for any responses, it's much appreciated.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-12-2010, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pokémoderator

1999 Saturn SW2 - '99 Saturn SW2 Wagon
Team Saturn
90 day: 40.49 mpg (US)