Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2009, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Chevy and CB Radio Lover

Send a message via Yahoo to Jammer
Smile Perfecting Going EOC After Dark

I am no expert at this stuff, and in fact I am new to this site. However I would like to share what I have learned in hopes it might help another newbie out.

My car is a 2009 Chevy Cobalt LS Coupe XFE, and so far I'm getting just above 45 MPG and climbing higher every time I drive.

At first my attempt at driving EOC in this car made it difficult for me to steer, and it spooked me. Latter I discovered my own stupidity was the reason- I had a radar detector wire wrapped around my steering column which resulting in it being very hard to steer in manual. The wire had got hung up and pinched in the steering column. So I had to take care of that fast because manual steering was just about impossible.

Ok, most of my spare time is now after dark. I think night time makes it double scary for a newbie to try driving EOC down hills and mountains. But I now find it's becoming natural.

Most important thing I found when driving after dark in EOC is to TURN MY LIGHTS TO ALWAYS ON. Otherwise all of my headlights and taillights would turn OFF until I turned the key back to the ON position, and that is an attention getter for the police that we likely need to avoid. So one of the first things I do at night time is to turn my lights to all-on. This way the lights are all on even when my key is in "Off" (and the brake and signal lights work).