Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2013, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Speedy Gonzales - '11 Ford Fiesta SES
Who uses vortex generators?

I work in the Aircraft industry, and the planes I build have specifically located VG's along the upper, leading edge of the wings...as do many Aircraft.
In our specific use, it increases lift, decreases drag and ultimately lowers fuel consumption and/increases speed...

Where might these be useful on a production car I wonder?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 01-02-2013, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

Bertha - '16 Mercedes Benz Metris
Been posted...
Old 01-02-2013, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Added a post to...

http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...ns-3889-6.html...

Old 01-02-2013, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

I have a few.

They come stock on the 07 CR-V.

Honda molded "edges" into the tops of the headlight to adjust airflow over the mirrors, and then molded more tabs into the mirrors to further adjust the airflow. The newer CR-V does away with them, though. The body has inherently better aero than the old one.

Some of the best examples, though, have got to be on the Prius C. It has vortex generators on both the headlights and rear lights.
Old 01-02-2013, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Not Ordinary Engineering

Wungun - I work in the aircraft industry as well: Flight Test Engineer. I'm glad to see you here...

I'm interested in testing vehicles to determine vortex generator placement. I have a partner and friend who is also a Flight Test Engineer. Our first vehicle is the Prius with initial tuft testing already underway. Our goal is to produce a kit and map to place strakes and vortex generators on your vehicle.