Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2016, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
The brake pedal is evil

Denny's Detector - '08 Mercury Grand Marquis

Taserface - '17 Chevy Volt
Project E

Preface:
At career fairs and interviews, my fuel economy project seems to gain a lot of interest. I'm an Electrical Engineering major so I've been emphasizing the gains that are to be had from working on the electronic and control side of things instead of aero gains. So far this has worked well, but I want to go higher. I am currently in my fourth year of the fuel economy project. Currently I attribute 80% of my gains to my technique, 10% to tires, and 10% to my airdam.
Summery:
I'm going to pursue improved technique via improved sensor readout, reduced parasitic loads, and aerodynamic mods with an EE twist: Sensors everywhere. I had a precatlyst melt down and I don't know why, as such I'm going to have sensors in places that may get hotter with restricted cooling air. The upside of this is that I can optimize things more and free up more fuel economy. I ultimately plan to have an automatic shutter that opens preemptively before the fans kick on such as if the engine is under heavy load without a large positive change in RPM, logic being that the only time that happens is on a hill. Some of things I have planned may not be strictly needed, but I'm going to use this to show off my skills as an EE major.
Limitations:
  • No LED or HID in Halogen housings.
  • No defeating emission controls.
  • No P&G (worn CV joints and poor fine motor skills).
  • Nearly no money. I predict many consumer electronics will be torn down for free parts.

Road map:
16/3/27:
NOW. I'm going to adjust my tire pressure to known values.
16/3/28
I'll pick up a fuel pressure tester and start working on implementing the injector balance test process outlined in my Prizm's Factor service manual.
16/3/31