View Single Post
Old 08-12-2015, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
HalfBreed
EcoModding Lurker

Cool A quick hello from the middle of nowhere

Hey there everyone!! My name is Shon and I've been lurking on this site for quite some time. I finally decided to get registered and get some questions answered and get some of my ideas out there for others to build off of.

A bit about me:

I'm a college student so saving money right now (with a baby on the way) is a big concern for us. I purchased a 2003 VW Jetta TDI (absolutely LOVE this car) for the ~50 mpg that they are known for. I've never been really serious about getting the most mpg out of my car, but it has been on my mind for months and I think that it could be fun. I am already having fun trying to beat my last tank averages.

Now, being on the budget I am of college dude with a kid on the way, I am going to attempt to do as much as I can for as cheap as I can. I am hoping to do all of my fabricating and design myself. My goal with this car is to see an exceptional difference in mpgs as well as keeping the car "cool-ish" looking. I want to retain all of the creature comforts that I use the most (full interior, radio, power windows). My focus to begin is going to be aero mods, as I believe that I could fabricate some body mods cheaper than modding the engine and trans.

I don't know how soon I will be able to get started with mods as we are living in a TINY apartment and my wife lets me get away with a few things like a motorcycle in the kitchen, but I doubt she would let me use the closet to store car parts lol So I am on the hunt for a working space (storage, garage, shop). In the meantime, I will be posting pics and ideas that I have in order to get feedback before making a full commitment toward any project.