Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Success Stories
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2014, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tinkerer

Silver - '15 Mazda CX-5 Sport
Team Mazda
90 day: 37.23 mpg (US)
40+ mpg highway Mazda CX-5

I just returned from family vacation from Tennessee to Florida (Navarre) and averaged over forty mpg both ways with pulsing A/C, drafting, wheel covers and upper grill block. Tires had max psi too. I just passed 2k on odometer on this Sport 2 liter manual trans SUV. I'm running just under 3000rpm at 70. Sweet spot is running around 65 on a crowded highway. VERY sensitive to what's in front when I watch the instant readout. Also used nonethanol, hand calculated mileage, which was pretty close to what the dash readout said. City driving was about 36ish. Acceleration was best guess 80% load up to 3000rpm. I'm still learning to drive this thing since it a polar opposite to my old TDI.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kafer65 For This Useful Post:
SwamiSalami (09-30-2014), UltArc (07-19-2014)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 07-12-2014, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

The Long Ranger - '01 Ford Ranger XL
Pickups
90 day: 28.68 mpg (US)

EcoSI - '08 Honda Civic SI
90 day: 28.83 mpg (US)
That is good work! Create a garage entry for it and record your gas and fuel use on the site!

Old 07-18-2014, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tinkerer

Team Mazda
I found that I'm capable of a 600 mile tank as I finished out the tank with a week of commuting. I filled 14ish gallons with 565 miles on it and two hash marks left on the factory gas gauge. I understand it may hold 18 gallons when filled to the vent. My dash average showed 39.9 but I calculated 37.8 IIRC. Its very hard to get fuel down the filler neck without getting the nozzle cutting out often. I wonder if that skews the station pump readout if you have 6 or more nozzle cutoffs?