Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2013, 07:04 PM   #81 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurnNBurn View Post
This will be my first electrical project. I've had a lot of experience with fixing things mechanically (transmissions, engines, etc...) but this will be my first wiring project. What gauge of wiring would you guys recommend for the main battery setup? (wiring batteries, controller, and throttle)
Draw up all of your parts and make a diagram or a list of what needs to connect to what and what I did for my motorcycle was to make a wiring harness for the smaller gauge wiring and labeled everything, I partly did this because I wanted to bench test the battery management system before installing it on the frame, but at the very least a list of what connects to each component helped me a lot.

I checked some online wire size calculators and figured that for around 6 feet of cable at a peek of 400 amps but a sustained 150-200 amps that 4 gauge cable would be fine, auto parts stores should have bulk red and black cable, I really like welding cable because it's finer strands of wire so it's softer and more flexible, McMaster Carr has Heavy Duty welding cable that has bright orange insulation so I bought 10 feet of that for my motorcycle, it looks good and it's clear that it needs extra caution, I then bought red and black heat shrink tubing with hot melt glue inside (dual wall or dual layer) so I could color code all of my high current cables, I also make notes with white out pens (fine tip paint pen) as to what things are, like "Battery +" and "Controller M-" to make sure that I could not screw things up while assembling if I wasn't thinking clearly that day.