Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2014, 08:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Princess Carriage - '20 Ford Explorer Limited

Silver - '22 Ford Maverick Hybrid XLT w/tow pkg
Maverick Hybrids
90 day: 41.3 mpg (US)
Balto, with me being a complete noob as far as anything electrical goes, I have a question.

What is the relay for? Couldn't I just cut the yellow wires, and wire each end up to my on/off switch? What does the relay actually do?

I bought an on/off pop-up button switch and a roll of 18 gauge wire. They didn't have a five pin relay at Radio Shack, they only had a four pin, and like some eight and ten pins, so I didn't get one yet. I just want to make sure I need the relay before I order one on Amazon.

Also, is the 18 gauge wire sufficient?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 12-26-2014, 03:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Maverick Hybrids
Okay Balto, mine's in! I followed your instructions exactly, other than I went in through the front firewall (with a small rubber grommet) ilo around the door frame..

Everything seems to be working correctly, other than it looks like I can't just throw it in neutral and EOC, I have to keep my foot on the clutch the whole time, or it wants to re-start. Of course, it can't re-start so it does a series of start-stop-start-stop, unless my foot is on the clutch.

Anybody else's doing that? I'm sure it's the FAS system trying to re-start it. One thing I didn't try was hitting my regen button, wish I would have tried that. It might fool the system into thinking I have my foot on the brake.

Thanks for the good write-up Balto. I didn't even need to call you, I just followed your instructions, so I know they were pretty well-written!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2952.JPG
Views:	60
Size:	88.9 KB