Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2011, 08:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 80

turquoise - '97 Toyota Starlet
90 day: 41.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Question Does the display actually turn off?

I thought the display would turn off after 7 mins (default) of no activity, or is there potentially something wrong in the code, or something upsetting it?


__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 04-20-2011, 09:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
The backlight LED should turn off if it is on to conserve power. The numbers still display though (sometimes useful so you can see what your last trip mpg before starting the car) and use little current.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 80

turquoise - '97 Toyota Starlet
90 day: 41.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Yeah, the back lit LED definitely hasn't turned off overnight...

I'm going to try change the default time and see if that wakes it up.

This is using the Canadian version chip, so will send him a PM if I can't figure it out.



EDIT: Just halved the default time and it looks like the backlight has turned off, but will know for certain later on today, if its working as it should.
__________________

Last edited by abently; 04-20-2011 at 06:42 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 80

turquoise - '97 Toyota Starlet
90 day: 41.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Actually now I'm not sure of what is going on...

I can't tell if the Backlight is on or not, or if its just the brightness that has changed somehow...

Will try to figure it out over the next few days...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
FYI, prebuilt hardware 1.3 uses an npn, as does the latest CPP. You might have a PNP driving the backlight, in which case you have to invert the signal, i.e. subtract all the values in this line from 255

byte brightness[] = { 0, 41, 84, 128 }; //middle button cycles through these brightness settings

becomes
byte brightness[] = { 255, 214, 171, 128 }; //middle button cycles through these brightness settings

maybe..

If this it what is going on it will be obvious if when you press the middle button, the display gets dimmer several times before resetting to the brighter setting. When it "sleeps", it sets the display to the first value which might be "extremely bright" in your case (the pwm of 0 means the control pin is constantly at ground, which activates the pnp transistor, but disables the npn transistor in newer versions.)
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!

Last edited by dcb; 04-20-2011 at 11:13 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 80

turquoise - '97 Toyota Starlet
90 day: 41.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
This is the prebuilt 1.3 off the Opengauge website (ordered 6 or so weeks ago), but with the Canadian code chip from another member.

Ok, so this is what I can confirm. At Brightness 0, the screen is the brightest, and the lowest at Brightness 3.

Now the issue is, apart from it being back to front (or is that how its suppose to be?) is that even at the lowest Brightness level, that still lights up the car like a Christmas tree and obviously perks the interest of passers by...

Is there a particular wire that I can setup a flick switch to, so that I can turn off the LCD, but not upset the EEPROM which needs to remain on?

EDIT: Had a quick look on wiki, that 5V input to the LCD, any issues with using that hooked up to a switch?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
Well if you have 1.3 hardware then I would try the brightness settings from the corresponding software (the cpp)


byte brightness[] = { 0, 41, 84, 128 }; //middle button cycles through these brightness settings


Unless someone has decided that what you are using needed to be completely rewritten and that sentence makes no sense at all.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 80

turquoise - '97 Toyota Starlet
90 day: 41.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
dcb, I have no hardware to READ / EDIT the chip.....

I'll PM the code writer to see what he can see in the code.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 80

turquoise - '97 Toyota Starlet
90 day: 41.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb View Post
Unless someone has decided that what you are using needed to be completely rewritten and that sentence makes no sense at all.
dcb,

Here is the current code I am using > "Canadian Metric 0.81m"

http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...tml#post202348

At 'Brightness 0', the screen is the brightest
At 'Brightness 3', the screen is the dimmest

Does this suggest I have a PNP driving the backlight? Or because it is the Opengauge 1.3 assembled unit (NPN), the code was altered for a PNP driven backlight unit?

I had a quick look through the code, but I think a lot of the Objects have been renamed, so would have to scan it line by line...

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
I added L/100km to the chip that came with it. The chip you have isn't compatible without reprogramming. Good luck with that

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com