Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hybrids
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2016, 10:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Quote:
Originally Posted by cRiPpLe_rOoStEr View Post
Though hybrids are not really my cup of tea, this project sounds impressive. How are you considering to conciliate all the gadgets in the Prius' instrument cluster with a classical look that would be expected in a good old American ride?
All will be explained. I am still a working engineer (not retired yet) so my free time is mostly on the weekends. My original plan for the dash had to change, so I will explain that in a post soon too!

Bill the Engineer

The Following User Says Thank You to Bill the Engineer For This Useful Post:
aerohead (06-19-2020)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 02-13-2016, 07:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Continuing with my story...

So, I had decided to investigate what it would take to convert my old rusty Firebird convertible into a hybrid. The initial research was very interesting to say the least.

At first, I thought it might be easy to just drop-in the GM Hybrid system out of the Hybrid Tahoe/Yukon SUV, since it was already a "GM" product with the same front engine / rear drive layout. Then I started looking at the specs and how poorly that system compared to my two Prii. It just seemed to be a lot of effort for not much gain. It's no wonder GM stopped making the hybrid drivetrain on that platform...

Then GM president Mary Barra made those "comments" about how GM was never going to bring back Pontiac and people should get over it. That soured me on anything GM from then forward, so the Volt drivetrain dropped off of my radar... forever.