Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2013, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Thumbs up Gonna give this ecomodder thing a shot, but I'll need your help!

Hey everyone,
Just rescued my sister's neglected 99 Civic and am planning on turning into my commuter car. I commute roughly 50 miles every day and my current car averages about 21mpg so I'm in desperate need of something better. The Civic alone should be a huge step in the right direction, but my goal is low to mid 40's (which seems pretty easily obtainable?). It's a 2 door coupe with a 5 speed manual and a D16Y7 engine. With just a little work it'll be roadworthy again and then I'm going to look into doing some ecomods to it. I'm a BMW technician so I'll be doing all the work myself, also I'm leaning towards physical mods over driving profile changes. Any tips you guys have would be greatly appreciated. Not opposed to engine swaps/gear ratio changes/ECU tuning.
Thanks in advance, I look forward to being a part of the community.

Badfish

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 02-16-2013, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Chief - '06 Pontiac Grand Prix
90 day: 26.7 mpg (US)

SF1 - '12 Ford Fiesta S
90 day: 30.95 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badfish View Post
Hey everyone,
I'm leaning towards physical mods over driving profile changes.

Badfish
More will gained by adjusting the nut behind the wheel.
The Following User Says Thank You to nemo For This Useful Post:
mcrews (04-28-2013)
Old 02-16-2013, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Haha I know this, but the nut behind the wheel has been crossthreaded for a long time now... that's why I'm trying to be realistic with a 40-45 mpg goal using mods alone.
Old 02-16-2013, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Chief - '06 Pontiac Grand Prix
90 day: 26.7 mpg (US)

SF1 - '12 Ford Fiesta S