Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2020, 12:17 AM   #31 (permalink)
Banned

Thanked 1,605 Times in 1,136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerohead View Post
I've no knowledge of anyone actually optimizing VG type, number, and location placement outside a laboratory environment.
Pages 146 -150 of my book.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JulianEdgar For This Useful Post:
aerohead (06-24-2020), freebeard (06-11-2020)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-14-2020, 04:08 AM   #32 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Accord - '12 Honda Accord sedan EX-L
90 day: 25.99 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulianEdgar View Post
Well, don't leave us in suspense - what were the results?!
It was nothing more than driving around with tufts to see if I can get any serious crosswind, so the results may not sound like worthy of 8 hours.

I thought the V arrangement (opening facing either forward or backward) was not taking advantage of the full number of VGs since in crosswind, one side of the V will be overlapping too much.

From Mr. Edgar's testing, I think that would be sufficient for my purpose to reduce the sideways forces in crosswind since I already tamed it down with some airtabs behind the rear axle, for the time being.

Now I'm looking at my car how I can firmly attach rooftop strake, and tryign to find some information on low speed characteristics of MiG-15/17.

Also about to buy the book.. the lack of scientific knowledge on my part while trying to have some fun with this is too painful.