Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2010, 06:56 AM   #3091 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

what about a complete 6502 based microcomputer board with ram , rom , pia and address decoding all built on a slab of plain matrix board with each connection hand soldered. 8 bit data bus , 16 bit address bus and cant cross each other!

AND using a manual eprom programmer. Setting up each byte and address with dip switches and toggling the r/w line. Took some time to fill up a 4k eprom After that i graduated to an 8086XT with a homemade eprom programmer running dos 4. bleeding edge stuff.

this was the genesis of Bauer's first law of electronics:
Keep it simple.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-06-2010, 02:05 PM   #3092 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackbauer View Post
what about a complete 6502 based microcomputer board with ram , rom , pia and address decoding all built on a slab of plain matrix board with each connection hand soldered. 8 bit data bus , 16 bit address bus and cant cross each other!

AND using a manual eprom programmer. Setting up each byte and address with dip switches and toggling the r/w line. Took some time to fill up a 4k eprom After that i graduated to an 8086XT with a homemade eprom programmer running dos 4. bleeding edge stuff.

this was the genesis of Bauer's first law of electronics:
Keep it simple.
LOL:

Like this - (could not find my huge Z80 board with the machine language program in Rom )

Note the massive heat-sink for all those TTL lol.....
See how nice we used to ground the Xtal...
AND those plug-in resistor banks - Oh way too much work....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_9834_DIY.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	5706   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_9835_DIY.jpg