Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Off-Topic > The Lounge
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2017, 01:36 PM   #71 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint5 View Post
I'm very new to 401k, so I may be mistaken, but I thought there were no capital gains when transferring the investment vehicle from one form to another, such as stocks to bonds. Wouldn't gains tax only apply if the funds are liquidated?
You're correct about 401k and traditional IRAs - at least as far as I know, but I'm neither an accountant nor a tax lawyer - but I thought we were discussing investments in general. I'd expect many people have both: the retirement accounts that can't be touched until age 59 1/2 (or whatever) without paying a significant penalty, and ordinary investment accounts that you can withdraw any time, where your capital gains & dividends are taxed.

Quote:
I just fundamentally am against zero-sum systems like the stock market. For you to gain money, someone has to lose, or the perceived value of the company has to perpetually increase.
But the stock market is not a zero-sum game. Even if stocks never change in value, they still pay dividends. And stocks do increase in value when their companies do more business and increase their markets.

Last edited by jamesqf; 11-09-2017 at 01:44 PM..
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 11-09-2017, 01:38 PM   #72 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Quote:
I wonder how the government will take their cut once everyone moves to anonymous e-currency?
Why do you think everyone would move to an e-currency? That's like expecting everyone to give up cash in favor of debit cards. And the anonymous part seems a bit of a stretch...
Old 11-09-2017, 03:52 PM   #73 (permalink)
...beats walking...

Thanked 1,525 Times in 1,126 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesqf View Post