Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2013, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Slow steppin'

2013 Coachman 21QBC - '12 Chevy Express 4500 RV
2011 Kia Forte 5 Hatchback 2.0L

Hello all,

I have a 2011 Kia Forte 5 Hatchback that I drive when I'm not on the road in my Cargo Hurse (Van).

I am new to ecomodding and hypermiling but I have to say it's not only something to turn driving into a joy to beat the evil oil companies and mother nature sometimes, but it certainly gets the mind going as to what can be done next. I guess it's like re-discovering the car again, but this time it will benefit not just me, but the rest of the world as well.

It's crazy that for 35+ years I been driving along and never once did it occur to me to throw it in neutral, not once

I am used to getting around 32 mpg in this car. We will see what the ecomadness has added to that total. The wind blows all the time out here in NW Ohio, so in addition to ecomadness techniques, I may start modding this car. Maybe 42mpg....We shall see....

As with the Cargo Hurse, as I go I will post with pics.
Mark

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011_Kia_Forte5Hatchback.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	12849  
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-07-2013, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Slow steppin'

I just added my first fuel log and it comes out to be 36.41 - better than 32, the norm. Most of the driving has been country, small town and one country highway trip (through Smalltown America) as I call it. Speeds ran between 0-55 mph. Coasting where ever I could made the difference. The Moditudinal Unit is coming around, she may start eco driving the Rio as well.

The difference in annual cost is about 817 bucks at 3.60 a gallon. The fuel prices go up and down as you know, so I had to pick what I thought a good price average would be.