Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2008, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Blue Noise - '13 Chevrolet Sonic LT Turbo
90 day: 47.15 mpg (US)
Echo driver

Hi there,

I've been a modestly careful driver for a while, but $3.50/gallon spurred me into learning how to drive better; $4/gallon has me thinking about (cheap) modifications to my car. I've read the 100 hypermiler tips and so far, changing my driving habits has gotten me from 40-41mpg up to 46; I'm hoping for 50 soon!

I do have a question on etiquette: my car is a 2000 Toyota Echo, which came from the factory with a 37mpg combined EPA estimate; the current EPA rating for the same car is 32mpg. Which one do I use for putting my car in the EM "garage"? That makes a huge difference as to my percentage over EPA....

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-09-2008, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Novice

Josie - '87 Toyota Pickup
90 day: 40.02 mpg (US)

Felicia - '09 Toyota Prius Base
90 day: 49.62 mpg (US)
I went to the Mileage.gov website and used the EPA's revised numbers. It feels like cheating, a little...but not enough for me to go back and change it.

Even with the old, optimistic numbers, I used that as a bottom-end point for comparison. I've never done as poorly as that; since really concentrating on it, I've left the estimates, even the blue-sky ones, far, far behind.

Welcome to it bro.

Lead or follow. Either is fine.
Old 06-09-2008, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)
Send a message via AIM to SVOboy Send a message via MSN to SVOboy Send a message via Yahoo to SVOboy
Eh, we use the new stuff. If that's what the EPA wants to use, that's what we'll use too.

Welcome to ecomodder! Great car!
Old 06-09-2008, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
NES Collector

Tom Baker - '03 Toyota Echo
90 day: 44.53 mpg (US)