EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hybrids (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hybrids.html)
-   -   2008 Civic IMA Issues (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/2008-civic-ima-issues-29618.html)

DOHCschwab 07-31-2014 07:27 AM

2008 Civic IMA Issues

Edit

Daox 07-31-2014 09:33 AM

I'm no expert, but I would probably start with a grid charger if you want to keep this simple. Otherwise you'll have to pull out the pack and evaluate the cells.

cowmeat 07-31-2014 01:57 PM

It seems like it would make more sense to fix it since it has relatively low miles on it, than to sell it. You're gonna get maybe five grand for it, and that will just buy you somebody else's problem car.
As long as the CVT is holding out I'd either get the grid charger or see if anybody in your area works on the battery packs. There's a guy in my area that rebuilds them for like half of the price the dealer quoted you

Wait a minute! Since you're from Kentucky, doesn't it make more sense to fix it by putting a piece of electrical tape over the IMA light?

Cobb 07-31-2014 05:22 PM

Depends on the ima codes. Could be a bad BCM, PTC strip or a thermal issue.

Maybe the blower is acting up or the intake is clogged?

DOHCschwab 07-31-2014 05:29 PM

Edit

DOHCschwab 07-31-2014 05:32 PM

edit

Ryland 07-31-2014 07:09 PM

I would start out by checking or even replacing the 12v starter battery, from what I understand if the 12v battery is on it's last legs everything will act fine but the light will come on, of course the dealership should have checked that... but they don't always do things like that.

Most auto part stores around here will load test the 12v battery to see if it's good, they should also be able to plug in an OBDII reader and tell you what the other codes are.

Cobb 07-31-2014 08:31 PM