EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Fossil Fuel Free (https://ecomodder.com/forum/fossil-fuel-free.html)
-   -   68 Mustang - Estimate (EV conversion ) (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/68-mustang-estimate-ev-conversion-27747.html)

cariacou 12-12-2013 05:03 PM

68 Mustang - Estimate (EV conversion )

Hello,

I have been reading about other's projects on the forum for a little while and finally decided to consider my project seriously.

I have found a cheap 68 Mustang, with body and interior in decent condition.

My goal would be to turn it into a commuter - $ saving car.

Requirements:
-good $/mile
-50-70 mile range on the batteries
-85mph top speed (70% of my commute will be at 75mph)

I am an engineer, have time on my hands, and will be renting a garage for the time of the project.

are these requirements possible ? most cars I saw around here were 50mph top speed.

what kind of prices am I looking at ?
I will obviously be doing most of the work myself. the only part I thought about paying a proffessional for it was linking the motor to the transmission.

thanks for any advice :)

slownugly 12-12-2013 05:12 PM

there was a mid 60s mustang floating around on here that was a hybrid with the original 6 cylinder and electric motor. i think it was getting in the 30s?? ive got a thread for my 68 rambler i am hoping for low 30s on that without electric.

sorry im not really much of help with the electric haha but welcome to the forum and good luck with the project. i like seeing some vintage stuff on here.

wheelbender6 12-12-2013 06:09 PM

The Stang sounds like a fun e-project. If the engine is still good, I would consider keeping it and adding electric assist like the one in slownugly's reply.
-Your range goals may be achievable if you consider some weight saving compromises for the car but I don't know about that speed.