Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2013, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
VX Apprentice

Angry 1992 Civic VX 38 MPG Max...

Hey all!
Name is Seth and I am a newbie on this forum, but I have been reading it a ton lately. I need some help!

I just got a VX from Canada and have only be able to top out the MPG at 38 miles per gallon.

I drive it like a baby, but do have about 50/50 city/highway. Even with that I feel like I should still be in the 40's from what I have been reading, so here is where i currently am:

After getting the car I did the following:
  • New engine Oil, filled w/ Mobil 1 Synthetic 10w-40, I also used Amsoil Engine and Transmission Flush
    I think it should have been 5w-30? (oil recommendations appreciated!)
  • New Honda Genuine Manual Transmission Fluid
    (transmission fluid recommendations appreciated here too!)
  • New NGK ZFR4F-11 V-Power Spark Plugs
    (possibly not gapped correctly?)
  • New Air Filter
  • Car has a new Distributor, rotor and wires, all are only a few thousand miles old

After seeing poor MPG through a couple of tanks of gas I did the following checks:
  • Timing Check; and it looks to be dead nuts on, as in the belt has not skipped a tooth and the marks line up well, but I have NOT yet check it with timing light.
  • Plug Check; plugs look clean at the electrode, but the rest of the plug is black.
    Could this possibly be oil burn or running rich? I think it's related to the next issue...
  • Compression check shows my cylinders are all even, BUT they only show 120PSI!
    I know this is a bad sign. Shouldn't I be seeing upwards of 200 psi?
    I have yet to do the wet compression check by adding a bit of oil to the cylinder, but I did let the motor run and get warm before doing the test, had the throttle wide open, and had the plugs out of the other cylinders while compression testing.