EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Motorcycles / Scooters (https://ecomodder.com/forum/motorcycles-scooters.html)
-   -   Advice from Ducati Owners (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/advice-ducati-owners-21092.html)

apocalypse ed 03-22-2012 01:29 AM

Advice from Ducati Owners

With gas approaching $5.00 gallon where I live, I am seriously considering purchasing a new bike. I have not had a bike since the early 90s and I am in great shape. My issue is that I am an avid body builder and I weigh in at 270 LBS and I am not sure a Ducati can handle my size. I am 5'11 inches but my muscle mas is really high which results in heavy body weight.

Are there any other Ducati owners on here that can give me advice on how the Ducati can handle my weight, and what would be the best model for me.

I know I have to do something to help out with the gas consumption here. I have to commute on average 40-60 miles a day for work.

offalot 07-17-2012 04:23 PM

Those are some very good points xiojfibfwbhehfix , to what I don't know though :confused:

Ed, I don't know what model Duc you are looking at but most out there are monsters (including the Ducati Monster) and will have no problem slinging your weight around. If you test drive one I'm sure you will not feel any lack of power, quite the contrary. That being said, probably not the best ecomodder bike.

euromodder 07-17-2012 06:04 PM

270 lbs on a bike that can handle 2-up riding won't be an issue at all.

Those that are made for single rider, usually have plenty of power to haul around a few more pounds.

6 feet may mean the Ducs (and many sporty bikes) are becoming cramped.
Try them out and see what bike fits you.

A Hypermotard or Multistrada won't have much problems with you ;)
The sportier the bike, the more of a squeeze it'll be.

Electictracer 07-17-2012 08:33 PM