Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2008, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

200 - '12 Chrysler 200
90 day: 20.38 mpg (US)
Alternator Mods

Hey there,

I am really loving the site, btw! Some really great info on here and everyone seems to be pretty cool.

My question is on alternators. I am reading about the drag it puts on the engine, people wating to upgrade to LED lighting, installing cut off switches and deep cell batteries, etc. Now I am a mechanical novice when it comes to autos. I understand the basics of how things work but I am by no means an expert. I know that the alt pulls power from the engine just like the AC does when it kicks on. Does the alt drag more on the engine with each extra amp it produces? If so, if you could turn it off and let it "free wheel" any guess as to what the increase in FE would be?

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-15-2008, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

I've been lurking here for a little while, but just registered and this is my first post.

Alternators don't operate like A/C compressors do. An A/C compressor has a clutch bearing, which when disengaged (no A/C) spins freely without resistance...that being said, removing the accessory belt on engines where the water pump is not a crank-driven accessory is somewhat common in drag racing for that very reason; less resistance on the engine.

If you so desire to bypass the alternator for brief periods, keep in mind its the alternators job to maintain current charge in the battery while powering the vehicle's electrical system; taking it out of the equation leaves the battery, and any fuel savings you may experience may be trumped by a much shorter battery life.
Old 06-15-2008, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)