Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2011, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Another new Michigan driver

I've been lurking long enough, time to say hi.

HI.

Ok so I'm just learning hypermiling and I need to combine that with some good modding so here I am. I drive a 2004 Chevy Aveo hatch with auto trans. Wanted a manual, but there weren't many aveos in MI within my price range so I'm stuck with the auto.

I have a few ideas for some mods to start off with, but right now I have to save up enough money to get regular maintenance done. I just bought it a few weeks ago and there are a few things that need taking care of. Once that stuff is out of the way I'd love to get started modding. I have always wanted to install side view cameras, so I might start there.

I'm also wondering about lowering with the H&K springs. Does that improve gas mileage enough to offset the cost of springs? I have a friend with all the tools and he can help me install, but $225 is a lot of money to me so I wouldn't want to dive in before knowing it would actually help a lot.

I've talked too long, time to let you guys chime in,

- Micman

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 07-15-2011, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator

CM400E - '81 Honda CM400E
90 day: 51.49 mpg (US)

Daox's Grey Prius - '04 Toyota Prius
Team Toyota
90 day: 49.53 mpg (US)

Daox's Insight - '00 Honda Insight
90 day: 64.33 mpg (US)

Swarthy - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage DE
Mitsubishi
90 day: 56.69 mpg (US)

Daox's Volt - '13 Chevrolet Volt
Thanked 2,586 Times in 1,554 Posts
Welcome to the site Micman.

I too have an aveo, although its a manual trans. It does pretty good on gas if you take it easy.