Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2014, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 8,554 Times in 7,041 Posts
Meet the New Manx, Same As the Old Manx

gizmag: Meyers Manx celebrates 50 years with electric dune buggy

Meyers’ Manx V dune buggy is an electric update on a California classic

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmag
"I'm an artist and I wanted to bring a sense of movement and gesture to the Manx," Meyers explained to Top Gear in an interview last year. "Dune buggies have a message: fun. They're playful to drive and should look like it. Nothing did at the time. So I looked at it and took care of the knowns. The top of the front fenders had to be flat to hold a couple of beers, the sides had to come up high enough to keep the mud and sand out of your eyes, it had to be compatible with Beetle mechanicals and you had to be able to build it yourself. Then I added all the line and feminine form and Mickey Mouse adventure I could."
Quote:
Originally Posted by digital trends
The company unveiled a prototype electric Manx to celebrate the vehicle’s 50th anniversary. The Manx V is powered by a 62-kilowatt (83 horsepower) electric motor, giving it a top speed of 62 mph.
Meyers sees the Manx V as primarily a Neighborhood Electric Vehicle (NEV) rather than a full-blown road vehicle like the Nissan Leaf or Tesla Model S. NEVs are passenger-carrying vehicles allowed to operate on streets in designated areas, but that don’t mix with regular traffic.
To meet state-specific NEV laws, Meyers will limited production versions to 35 mph or 45 mph, depending on where they’re sold. At least drivers will look good going slowly.

Old Red there is 50 years old this month:
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmag