EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Belated Intro... (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/belated-intro-12179.html)

jfitzpat 02-05-2010 12:56 PM

Belated Intro...

After lurking for months, I finally started recently posting.

It would be fare to say that I am a semi-eco driver. Especially with a vehicle that is probably very rare here, a 2001 Chevy Suburban!

Yes, howl away, but A) it is pretty much only driven weekly, and almost always loaded to capacity (except for emergencies, we only use it for volunteer stuff, be it hauling canned foods or adaptive equipment for the disabled). B) it has over 200,000 miles and I figure that everything between here and 300,000 is a lower total carbon footprint than replacing it, especially with a vehicle that can haul. And C) I still get better than EPA and keep the emissions stuff tip top. In fact, I simulate the narrow band O2 sensors so that I can fool the ECU into running much closer to peak cat efficiency more of the time.

That last one relates to my day job, which is taking these technologies:

EmiSense Technologies, LLC: Smart Sensors - Clean Emissions

And getting them into products and vertical applications. So what I did with my truck (yes, I'm a guy, so the SUV is a 'truck') is very much like something I had already done with engines like these:

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/s...loads/bfe1.jpg
http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/s...loads/bfe2.jpg

The reason I started lurking was a rather different product that I was doing for a motorsports company. That may sound like a contradiction, but motorsports was the first commercial applications for Digital Direct(tm) technology. And, in its way, it helps make a 'dirty' application greener. The norm had been to run pig rich, but we demonstrated that the path to 'meaner' is often 'leaner' which happens to be 'greener' (bad puns intended).