EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://ecomodder.com/forum/aerodynamics.html)
-   -   Best aeromod contstruction methods? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/best-aeromod-contstruction-methods-24502.html)

AXMAN 01-03-2013 04:10 PM

Best aeromod contstruction methods?

Hi chaps, This is my first post on ecomodder but I have been hypermiling for a couple of years now.
My weapon of choice is a Citroen AX 1.5d. which has returned a best figure of 72mpg (UK) with 40 psi in the tyres and some basic hypermiling techniques. Average mpg is between 58 to 62.

Now I want to get serious with it and give it a scangauge and some aero mods:
rear wheel skirts (cos I think they look sweet), a partial Kammback, smoothed bumpers ect.

Is there a proven construction method for these? I was considering light ply structures with model aircraft film as covering or GRP moulding.

I don't want to go at it all wrong and over-complicate it, but I dont want it to stand out in a way that gets me pulled over every week.

Many thanks.

2000neon 01-03-2013 04:23 PM

You can do a search for some of the build threads here for details on building the mods. With my old Neon I used mainly coroplast (corrugated plastic), and when I needed a little more strength I added some 1/8" aluminum bar behind it. I used that for the belly pan, wheel skirts, and kammback. I have a thread for it called 2000 Neon Aero Mods which shows all of mine.

AXMAN 01-03-2013 04:58 PM

Thanks neon, I read your thread. DIY wheel covers look good in green. How does the coro belly pan cope with exhaust heat? considering re-routing my exhaust to exit the side of the front bumper.

serialk11r 01-03-2013 05:10 PM

I'm thinking of doing a spoiler with Bondo Glass (glass fiber reinforced filler, for a little more peace of mind) and insulation foam, some people have done grill blocks with Bondo and insulation foam.

2000neon 01-03-2013 05:19 PM