EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   The Lounge (https://ecomodder.com/forum/lounge.html)
-   -   Best route from Phoenix to Oregon? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/best-route-phoenix-oregon-35149.html)

Xist 05-07-2017 12:46 AM

Best route from Phoenix to Oregon?

My sister is moving on Tuesday and I am driving a Penske 26' truck, towing my brother-law's Hyundai. I have not driven much in California. Mom and my sister are debating which route is best for a truck. Dad would have known, but we lost him three years ago.
Do you guys have any feedback?
Thanks!

me and my metro 05-07-2017 12:56 AM

It is a longer distance but go through L.A. and up I-5. The only mountains on that route are in Northern Cal.

slowmover 05-07-2017 01:42 AM

Interstate is always best choice. Even if somewhat longer. For purposes of less stress and higher mpg. I'm a truck driver, I route plan constantly. Choose the Rand McNally Commercial Road Carriers Atlas. Look at the main US map. Choose the Interstate[s] corresponding to best route (I'd avoid California, but I'd be willing to pay the extra; worst state in the Union).

Plan your stops. Use a low estimate of fuel economy. Choose a truck stop such as Flying J/Pilot (use app). All the amenities. Same side of road as travel direction if possible. Breaks every two hours or 100-miles. Assume 50-mph average speed for planning (no matter how fast you travel, 58 or 62, 50-mph covers fuel stops and short breaks when looking at engine run hours versus total miles).

Windshield cleanliness important, but side glass and mirrors more so. Clean at every stop. Interior too.

Adjust drivers seat posture to upright and close enough not to have to "reach" top of wheel. Then with a helper adjust mirrors to capture vehicle edges without turning head.