EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Broke college student who dosn't like buying gas (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/broke-college-student-who-dosnt-like-buying-gas-24682.html)

H-Man 01-20-2013 07:38 PM

Broke college student who dosn't like buying gas

I'm majoring in engineering at the community college, I drive a geo prizm that gets less than amazing fuel economy.
I registered because it looks like the MPGunio can be built with just the ATMEGA168 microcontroller and $6 of parts if a AVR programmer is already had (parallel ports can do some AVR flashing.)

HydroJim 01-20-2013 09:39 PM

Welcome to the forum. What kind of MPG are you getting with your prizm? they're no fuel economy champs, but I always thought they got decent gas mileage.

MPGuino should definitely be your first modification. Having something to give you feedback on your driving really helps out :thumbup:

H-Man 01-20-2013 11:12 PM

Filled out log.
Maybe my mismatched tires have something to do with it only giving me 29 MPG.
Compared to what I used to drive (1988 chevy suburban with a 454 and 4.10 rear axle, 3 speed automatic) even the geo gets good fuel economy.

MetroMPG 01-21-2013 04:32 PM

MPGuino and driving technique will get you well over what you're getting now.

I see a few "70 mph" and "mountain" references in your fuel log. 70 is going to hurt for sure. http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...you-15182.html

Mountains can too, depending on the driver.

Welcome to the forum!

H-Man 01-21-2013 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MetroMPG (Post 352247)
MPGuino and driving technique will get you well over what you're getting now.

I see a few "70 mph" and "mountain" references in your fuel log. 70 is going to hurt for sure. <link snipped so that I can post>

Mountains can too, depending on the driver.

Welcome to the forum!