EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Call me crazy...(noob) (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/call-me-crazy-noob-20856.html)

MosersMopars 03-06-2012 01:59 PM

Call me crazy...(noob)

New to the site and my 2001 Dodge Durango (5.9L, 4x4). I seem to have really given myself a handicap with this truck, staring at 13-15MPG as a tank-to-tank average. I'll be making upgrades soon and hopefully posting my fuel-savings here to help others who are forced to drive people-movers rather than gas-savers. I've been modding for mileage since about 2001 with my 1992 Dodge Dakota (3.9L, 4x4 ext.cab), and I didn't even mean to. I slapped a huge open-element filter on the engine, upgraded the spark plugs and went from 17-20MPG tank-to-tank average. My previous vehicle was a 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan (3.3L, 4spd, fwd) that I modded from 21 to 27 MPG tank-to-tank. See ya 'round.

larrybuck 03-06-2012 06:14 PM

Welcome! The Durango may prove to be a tougher one for sure to bring up the mpgs.,
but if you will do a little reading here, I'm sure some better results are possible.

I used to have a '92 Dakota Sport when I lived in NC., (2.5 4 cyl., 5spd.) and used it for courier work usually going about 300miles a day, 5 days a week.

With that setup; keeping to a max of 55mph., I was able to get up to 37mpg. during
the warmer months, (lived in NW mountainous part/worked that part too..to far west) that was with a canopy, or camper top, depending on local phraseiology!

I put 392,000 miles on it very quickly, original clutch still great, never bumped up
tire pressure in those days...

Maybe you could do swap for your Dakota?

Again; welcome!

Frank Lee 03-06-2012 08:04 PM