EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   Can low rpm damage the engine? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/can-low-rpm-damage-engine-2943.html)

KiaRio2004 06-10-2008 06:20 AM

Can low rpm damage the engine?

Hi all
Newbie here.
I've been trying out low rpm driving as I call it. shifting my manual at as low rpm as possible without the engine stalling. It's a gasoline 1,3 liter engine, Kia Rio 2004. On one 50 mile trip I got 55 mpg.

Now the question is if I'm damaging my engine/clutch by this? I generally shift up at 2500 rpm but when lowrpm'ing it I shift up at 2000 rpm.

Any comments?

greetings

lunarhighway 06-10-2008 06:49 AM

i don't think it will damage your engine if you remain sensible, what you don't wat to do is go below idle speed, or if you feel the engine is really lugging.

i generally drive around in 5th even at speeds as low as 50km/h = 31 mph the engine is than just a hair above 1000rmp, if i have to accelerate to a higher speed i do tend to downsift one or two gears, so the engine at peak torqe wich is between 2000 and 3000 rmp and as soon as i'm at the desired speed i skip straigth to 5th, even when i'm in 2nd or 3d the rmp's will come down and the momentum of the car is usually enough to allow smooth transition.... while cruising along your car doesn't need all that power, especially at low speeds.

my car is a 1.6 however and my previous car was a 1.3 wich actually had more power, but needed to be revved to get that.

so if it feels that the engine can cope i think you should be fine.

MetroMPG 06-10-2008 08:32 AM

lunarhighway speaks the truth: as long as you're not lugging the engine (causing it to shake, shudder or buck when under load at low RPM), you're fine.

Congrats on 55 mpg - that's impressive!

And welcome to the site.

KiaRio2004 06-10-2008 09:15 AM

thanks

Thanks for quick replies!