EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   CFD expert - first time posting (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/cfd-expert-first-time-posting-26814.html)

julien.decharentenay 08-29-2013 01:24 AM

CFD expert - first time posting

Hi,

I have found quite a lot of very interesting information through the form and website - particularly I was looking for Cd and Cl information.

I am based in Australia and do not drive a car - cycling and taking public transport when possible, otherwise borrow my wife's car. I have a lot of experience in Computational Fluid Dynamics (aka CFD) and have recently gone into doing modelling for cars.

I have personally developed two tools (please google for links as I am not allowed to put links) that may be of use to some of you:

1) Khamsin, a SketchUp Plugin for CFD Modelling: in short it is a CFD modelling environment integrated to SketchUp (a free 3D CAD environment). It uses open-source CFD software for the number crunching. While it has a small licensing fee for commercial use, it is free for non-commercial use;

2) Aerodynamic on Demand: this is a simple web portal to submit CFD analysis to estimate aerodynamic performances.

I hope that any of these may be put to some good use - reducing dependency on fuel is a good thing.

Julien

Cd 08-29-2013 04:09 AM

A very, very warm welcome !
Glad to have you here sir .

MetroMPG 08-29-2013 08:56 AM

Welcome, Julien.

Feel free to post the links, minus the 'http' bit -- that'll get it past the filter. I'll edit that part back in for you afterwards. Or you're also welcome to post 4 more times to gain permission to post full links.

cheers
Darin

Grant-53 08-31-2013 12:34 PM