Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2014, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Walter - '03 Volkswagen Golf GL TDI
New '03 Volkswagen Golf TDI Owner

Hey everyone, I drive a 2003 VW Golf TDI automatic and have never been interested in the powermods that are mostly talked about on the dedicated TDI forums. I bought the car for longevity and efficiency and was pretty excited to discover this site. I have owned the car for 3 years now and average 38.5 mpg combined.

I have just started changing my driving habits and switched to a better diesel brand and hope to see some tiny difference on the next tank. My next goal is to get a ScanGauge then start to work on some actual mods to improve vehicle aerodynamics and reduce rolling resistance.

Personally, I am currently a medical student in East Tennessee. I am married and live in a small cabin with my wife. We're regularly annoyed by our 5 hens and 2 goats who refuse to stop eating my garden..

I look forward to get to know everyone!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 08-11-2014, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all about Diesel

Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,452 Posts
If I would ever get a Golf, Jetta, or a Passat with the TDI, I'd probably try some homebrewed biodiesel, or even a WVO conversion (altough the older Volkswagen Diesel engines with indirect injection are more suitable to a single-tank WVO setup). Anyway, I have never seen a Golf TDI with the automatic transmission in Latin America.
Old 08-12-2014, 07:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker