EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   DIY / How-to (https://ecomodder.com/forum/diy-how.html)
-   -   DIY: Honda FIT Kill Switch (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/diy-honda-fit-kill-switch-33741.html)

Veen 04-26-2016 10:12 AM

DIY: Honda FIT Kill Switch

###### EDIT ######
Based on my experience and the advice from BaltotheWolf, I don't recommend using the Igniter Fuse method for the Honda FIT. About 15% of the time it causes "dieseling" which prevents the motor from turning off and probably causes damage to the engine over an extended time. I'll update this thread when I have found a new solution for the FIT.
################

Just finished my kill switch for my FIT. I don't have a lot of miles on it so I can't say for sure it won't cause trouble, but it uses the ignition coil fuse, which I think is same as key off kill. Anyway, here's how I did it:

Disclaimer: Kill switches are dangerous, I am not an automotive expert, I may have royally f***ed something up with my car, proceed at your own risk.

Parts:
Momentary switch: any, can be low current
Toggle switch: any, can be low current
Relay: Should handle 15A, I used CP1SA-12V-X
Fuse Tap: Got it from Autozone, mini, low profile kind
Wire/solder/connectors: Use what you have

Tools:
Wire Stipper
Crimper
Soldering Iron
Zip Ties

Overview:
Reconfigure Fuse Tap
Wire Fuse Tap to Relay and switches
Locate and remove IG COIL fuse
Install modified fuse tap

Reconfigure Fuse Tap:
The fuse tap is meant to create another circuit in parallel with a given fuse, instead I want it to interrupt the circuit the fuse is protecting (and keep using the fuse for protection) when I cut it with the relay.
http://ecomodder.com/forum/member-ve...2-fuse-tap.jpg

Open the fuse tap carefully with a razor blade, I had to remove the heat shrink off the wire.
http://ecomodder.com/forum/member-ve...sassembled.jpg