EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   General Efficiency Discussion (https://ecomodder.com/forum/general-efficiency-discussion.html)
-   -   Does my car have fuel cut while engine braking? (1994 Honda Civic LX 1.5L MT) (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/does-my-car-have-fuel-cut-while-engine-22345.html)

EricRyan 06-21-2012 11:20 PM

Does my car have fuel cut while engine braking? (1994 Honda Civic LX 1.5L MT)

I've been pondering the subject of engine brake vs. neutral coasting, and I can't find any definitive information to help me decide which side of the fence I stand on.

With the 100 miles I've put on since the last fill-up, I can already tell a huge MPG improvement using a lot of engine braking (something I've never done before as I *thought* it was wasteful) based on my fuel needle's position in relation to the F mark of the gauge. One of the most common thing I've seen come up in the engine brake vs. neutral coasting debate is whether or not your vehicle is EFI or carb'd, and whether or not your EFI has fuel cut or not.

My question is: does anyone know if my 1994 Honda Civic LX 1.5L MT has the capability to cut fuel when engine braking?

Gasoline Fumes 06-21-2012 11:30 PM

I can't imagine why it wouldn't. My '91 Civic has it. Accelerate to at least 3000 RPM in first gear with the engine warmed up, then lift your foot. You should feel the engine come back to life near idle. Mine does it at 1200 RPM. It's much easier to detect in lower gears.

gone-ot 06-21-2012 11:31 PM

...a ScanGauge-II™ would tell you by indicating a sudden drop in fuel flow quantity while braking. Do you have a SGII?

Gasoline Fumes 06-21-2012 11:35 PM

I don't think a ScanGauge will work in a '94 Civic. Monitoring the O2 sensor voltage will also show the fuel cut.

EricRyan 06-22-2012 12:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old Tele man (Post 313484)