Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2009, 04:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
aero guerrilla

Svietlana II - '13 Peugeot 308SW e-HDI 6sp
90 day: 58.1 mpg (US)
Alternators 101

There are a few threads with less or more information on alternators, but none with full information on how an alternator works and what is the best way to add an OFF switch. Since the alternator is an inportant and dangerous engine accessory, I decided it would be a good idea to understand alternators before messing with them. I'm no expert, so I ask (pleasepleaseplease) anyone who can pitch in to do so. Anything educated that I might add would only be cut&pasted from a randomly googled site, so I'd like someone to expain, in their own words, how an alternator works, what kind of alternators can be found in cars, how many wires do they have and what are they for, what is a field wire, supply wire, what is the best/safest way to disconnect the alternator, etc. Pictures and diagrams will be helpful, as will be links to any posts with good information.

To start somewhere, I'll use my car's alt as an example.