EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   General Efficiency Discussion (https://ecomodder.com/forum/general-efficiency-discussion.html)
-   -   Drivetrain measurements (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/drivetrain-measurements-18160.html)

bwilson4web 07-14-2011 10:25 AM

Drivetrain measurements

1 Attachment(s)
Having owned a Prius for six years, I'm still learning and a recent question had me go back and take more measurements:
  • What is the Prius transaxle efficiency?
Fortunately, it is possible to measure it and this is a look at some of the preliminary data.

A modified Prius was driven from 'Big Ed's Pizzeria' to 'North Alabama Computers' in Huntsville AL while recording these data elements:
  • MG1 torque (Nm)
  • MG2 torque (Nm)
  • MG1 rpm
  • MG2 rpm
  • Traction battery volts
  • Traction battery amps
Then using a few, key relationships, intrinsic to the transaxle axle, we can calculate:
  • ICE rpm
  • ICE torque
Those relationships are:
  • ICE rpm = (MG1_rpm + (MG2_rpm * 2.6)) / 3.6
  • ICE torque = MG1_Nm / 0.28
  • mph (Indicated) = MG2_rpm / 57
  • power (W) = Nm * 2 * pi() * rpm / 60
But sampling is slow, ~0.50 seconds per sample, in this file. I will try a faster sampling rate which will help reduce the 'outliers.'

So this is what the 5 minute, ~300 second, trip looked like:
http://hiwaay.net/~bzwilson/prius/tran_010.jpg

Initially, I had to wait in the parking lot for traffic to clear:
http://hiwaay.net/~bzwilson/prius/tran_020.jpg
The initial engine start shows a peak of ~8kW to spin it up. Reverse is only via the traction battery and MG2. Then the Prius tries to use EV mode as much as possible until the catalytic converters reach operating temperature. Once stopped, the car recharges the traction battery and then shuts-down the ICE. Vehicle power is provided by the traction battery.

Then I accelerated to the 50 mph posted, speed limit:
http://hiwaay.net/~bzwilson/prius/tran_030.jpg