Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2008, 06:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Tangs Rio - '04 Kia Rio
Exclamation Can low rpm damage the engine?

Hi all
Newbie here.
I've been trying out low rpm driving as I call it. shifting my manual at as low rpm as possible without the engine stalling. It's a gasoline 1,3 liter engine, Kia Rio 2004. On one 50 mile trip I got 55 mpg.

Now the question is if I'm damaging my engine/clutch by this? I generally shift up at 2500 rpm but when lowrpm'ing it I shift up at 2000 rpm.

Any comments?

greetings

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-10-2008, 06:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

vectra a - '95 Opel Vectra GLS
90 day: 37.51 mpg (US)
i don't think it will damage your engine if you remain sensible, what you don't wat to do is go below idle speed, or if you feel the engine is really lugging.

i generally drive around in 5th even at speeds as low as 50km/h = 31 mph the engine is than just a hair above 1000rmp, if i have to accelerate to a higher speed i do tend to downsift one or two gears, so the engine at peak torqe wich is between 2000 and 3000 rmp and as soon as i'm at the desired speed i skip straigth to 5th, even when i'm in 2nd or 3d the rmp's will come down and the momentum of the car is usually enough to allow smooth transition.... while cruising along your car doesn't need all that power, especially at low speeds.

my car is a 1.6 however and my previous car was a 1.3 wich actually had more power, but needed to be revved to get that.

so if it feels that the engine can cope i think you should be fine.

*i can coast for miles and miles and miles*

Last edited by lunarhighway; 06-10-2008 at 08:52 AM..
Old 06-10-2008, 08:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Batman Junior

Blackfly - '98 Geo Metro
Team Metro
Last 3: 70.09 mpg (US)

MPGiata - '90 Mazda Miata