EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   The Lounge (https://ecomodder.com/forum/lounge.html)
-   -   Emissions tests (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/emissions-tests-3957.html)

atomicradish 07-21-2008 08:07 AM

Emissions tests

How many of you guys have to pass these?

I hear about them all the time. Lucky for me, my county does not require emissions checks so I've never had to pass one.

Daox 07-21-2008 08:31 AM

I have to pass emissions. IMO its not a big deal at all. You just have to keep your car in good running condition and thats part of ecomodding/hypermiling anyways... Plus, I kinda like clean air.

dcb 07-21-2008 09:33 AM

We have them here, it is just a computer handshake test if you have a 96 or newer car.

Johnny Mullet 07-21-2008 10:03 AM

I work in Pennsylvania and live in Ohio. The PA emissions test in our area is a "Visual and gas cap" check. Being an IM inspector myself, I know what to look for.............

Under hood inspection to make sure all components are there and seem to be in working order like the PCV valve, Evap lines, Air pump, etc. Then under the vehicle, the car must have a cat converter that looks like it's made for the vehicle. Then the machine tests the fuel cap where you also make sure the fuel inlet restrictor in is place if equipped.

Certain parts of PA also require an OBDII scan for emissions related codes.

Lake County in Ohio actually hooks a "Sniffer" to your tail-pipe and it checks the amount of pollution the car is putting out. Every state is different.

Doofus McFancypants 07-21-2008 12:22 PM

Georgia has the Code check and the Gas Cap Check.

I think it is an Employment initiative. make easy jobs for those who want to work and have little skills. Kinda like all gas stations in New Jersey are Full Service - a way to keep people employed.

Steve

starquestPilot 07-21-2008 01:00 PM

My cars don't have OBD II - have to put them on the dyno...

dremd 07-22-2008 07:44 PM