EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   The Lounge (https://ecomodder.com/forum/lounge.html)
-   -   Florida - things to see? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/florida-things-see-37330.html)

Vman455 03-12-2019 07:56 PM

Florida - things to see?

I've cleared my work schedule next week so I can take an actual spring break now that I'm back in school. I decided to take a road trip to Florida since I've never been before. Aside from the usual beaches, Everglades, whatnot, anything I should plan on seeing/doing? Any Florida people on here?

redpoint5 03-12-2019 08:39 PM

I'm far from an expert, but I generally dislike Florida because it's humid, flat and in places like Miami, vain.

That said, I enjoyed Key West quite a lot, and my favorite SCUBA dive ever was at the Vandenburg wreck. It was my deepest sport dive, yet the water was so clear and warm enough that I only needed swim shorts.

The 2 most expensive beers I've ever bought were in Miami, at something like $14 each, and one of those at the Ritz (where I was not staying). Their "craft" beer was a Stella. Very disappointing, but that was 10 years ago. I'm sure things have improved since then.

ksa8907 03-12-2019 09:01 PM

What area are you visiting? We have been to panama city a couple times, nice, but very touristy. We liked Sarasota a lot, the keys in that area are great too. When our kids are older, I would really like to visit more of the historical places in FL.

Ecky 03-13-2019 08:19 AM

I grew up in and traveled all over Florida. As far as I'm concerned if I never saw it again I wouldn't shed a tear, but I realize it's different visiting a place than growing up there.

What kinds of things do you like? Disney has a huge set of complexes west of Orlando which are pretty popular. Key West and St Augustine are both neat, with Key West being (IMO) the better of the two. The springs in the Ocala national forest are gorgeous - my favorite was Juniper.