EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   FNG from VT, USA (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/fng-vt-usa-16465.html)

JethroBodine 03-15-2011 07:54 PM

FNG from VT, USA

Hey Everyone. Been lurking a while and got tired of not being able to see the pics here. I've been a mechanic for over 20 years, currently a Freightliner certified tech, worked on generators( military and civilian), trucks( military and civilian), tanks( military only:D), inboard and outbord marine engines, heavy equipment, drag cars, built fiberglass boats, and am starting a distilling business from the ground up in my spare time.

I drive 48 miles a day, too and from work, and currently have a '90 Jetta 1.8 8valve gas-job. Been trying my hand at some hypermiling stuff, mostly slowing down( definition of stress for an ex-drag racer;)) to 60 on the pedal- up hill, and EOnC down hill. LOTS of coasting oppertunities 'round here on the highway!

LOVE the boat tails I've seen here and look forward to reading and seeing more!!!

JeepNmpg2 03-15-2011 08:21 PM

Welcome to the forum! Sounds like you've already got a good start, maybe next add some sort of instrumentation like a scanguage to help you learn to drive the vehicle according to its "sweet spots". Look forward to seeing what you come up with especially if you go the boattail route.

Angmaar 03-15-2011 08:34 PM

Welcome to the forum!

JethroBodine 03-15-2011 09:07 PM

Scanguage

Thanks guys.

JeepNmpg2- I thought Scanguages were OBD2. My Jetta is a 90. Looking into a vaccuum guage and I've seen mention of a retro style SG for OBD1 that has to be assembled. NEVER have too many guages:).

I've got a lot of reading and learning to do, and hopefully, more MPGs to find:D:D!

JeepNmpg2 03-16-2011 01:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JethroBodine (Post 225676)
JeepNmpg2- I thought Scanguages were OBD2. My Jetta is a 90.

:rolleyes:

*Facepalm*