Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2012, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Touring Musician

Touring Musician hitting the road

Hi Eco friends,

I'm a nationally touring musician... have been so for many years. Actually, I put in a good bit of my touring each year by bicycle, but to keep things financially sustainable the really no way around the range and speed of the the tour van. So, in an effort to reconcile my eco-conciousness and my business, I need to get the most out of my '99 Chevy Epressvan. And, I've signed up to start the conversation.

Last year, we averaged a somewhat respectable (considering 4 people and gear as a load) mpg of 16.5-17.5. That has mostly to do with enforcing a strict 65 mph maximum speed rule on the highways. But I want to do better. Beyond getting the scan gauge... what are other suggestions.

Just reading through the forums I've thought of lighter wheels, newer bearings, maybe shooting for a solar assist to take some work off the engine. I'd really like to get this thing up past 30 mpg.

Thanks for all your suggestions!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 02-06-2012, 09:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned

2004 CTD - '04 DODGE RAM 2500 SLT
Team Cummins
90 day: 19.36 mpg (US)
Fuel economy is a subset of Economy. A gauge of how well other things are going, if you will, in that a larger perspective is important to relative understandings.

More information would be good for "you" (the group of owners or operators) to specify. The order of "knowing" vehicle expenses beforehand is relatively:

- Vehicle specification
- Climate
- Terrain
- Intended Use

Second, (a NeilBlanchard quote)

the relative order of [mpg] importance is still:

* Drivetrain Efficiency
* Aerodynamic Drag
* Weight
* Rolling Efficiency

http://www.governmentauctions.org/up...van-798668.jpg